Show All Answers
Unfortunately, birth or death certificates as well as marriage licenses are not filed in the Rensselaer County Clerk's office. Copies of birth or death certificates may be obtained either through the New York State (NYS) Department of Health or the town or city clerk's office where the person was born and/or died. Marriage licenses are also issued by city or town clerks and may be obtained from the office of the clerk who originally issued the marriage license.
New York State Department of HealthCorning TowerAlbany, NY 12211Phone: 518-474-2121
Additionally, we have provided a listing of the town and city clerk's numbers in Rensselaer County:
There are two ways in which you can get a copy of your deed from the Rensselaer County Clerk's office! First, you can come to our office, which is located at 105 3rd Street (corner of Congress and 3rd) in Troy and obtain a copy for $0.50 per page.
You can also submit a written request to:Rensselaer County Clerk Record Department105 3rd StreetTroy, NY 12180
In the request please give us your name, location of the property (town) and the approximate year that you purchased the property. Mail requests cost $1 per page, and must have a check submitted with your request. Your check can be made out to the Rensselaer County Clerk with a "not to exceed five dollars" notation made. We will fill in the amount and return a receipt with your request. Mail in requests are processed and returned the same day that our office receives them.
Passport applications are currently accepted by appointment only. Please call 518-270-4080 to arrange an appointment for junior passport and new passport applications. You cannot renew an adult passport at the County Clerk's office.
Monday through Friday11 am to 3 pm
Please allow half an hour per appointment. You will need:
Please call 518-270-4080 with any questions.
The Rensselaer County Clerk does not designate the daily and weekly papers for publication of LLCs in the county. Section 206 of the NYLLC law designates publication of a corporation or a LLC for a period of six weeks in a daily and weekly newspaper.
The daily newspapers for Rensselaer County as designated by the Rensselaer County Legislature are:
The weekly papers for Rensselaer County are either based in the County or service the County either as an official town/city newspaper as determined by the local municipality:
Our office provides, among other important services:
If you have any questions regarding the information listed or any other general County Clerk related issue, please contact the Record Room at 518-270-4080 or the Department of Motor Vehicles at 518-270-2600.
The Rensselaer County Clerk's office has one satellite DMV office for residents' convenience. The satellite's location and hours of operation can be found at:
Rensselaer County DMV has opened a second full service office located at the Rensselaer County Office Building, 99 Troy Road East Greenbush NY 12061.
The office is open weekdays from 8:30am -4:00pm.
Not at all! Anyone interested in starting a business in Rensselaer County can register a business name in our office located at 105 3rd Street in Troy. Be sure to bring a photo ID and either cash or a check when registering your business. We will search your business name on our computer database to make sure that it is not being used by anyone else in Rensselaer County. We will notarize your signature with proper ID, which will enable you to file your DBA.
The cost for filing a DBA is $25 with a $4 fee for a certified copy if you are planning to open a bank account for your business. We also have informational booklets from the state that will assist you in applying for your Tax ID number, which is issued through the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance.
If a business is a partnership (more than one person) then all of the partners need to be present in order for our office to notarize the signatures and file the document. If you are planning to incorporate, then you need to go to the New York Department of State. Discontinuance of DBAs can be done anytime in our office with the proper ID for no charge.
Obtain the documents and forms you need for your DBA by visiting our DBA Forms page.
The Rensselaer County Clerk has ceased issuing photo IDs effective January 2, 2020. Anyone interested in obtaining photo ID will need to contact the Rensselaer County Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or the New York State DMV.
The Rensselaer County Clerk's office is made up of the Records Room Department located at 105 3rd Street in the city of Troy and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which is located at the Pattison Office Building found at 1600 7th Avenue also in the city of Troy.
To view the current hours of operation, we recommend visiting:
You can reach our offices by phone by calling:
If you receive your first conviction for DWI or DWAI and you participate in the Drinking Driver Program (DDP), you can receive a conditional license. The DMV determines if you are eligible for the DDP. A judge can stop your enrollment in the DDP. To get complete information read the DMV brochure, The Impaired Driver Program.
The law mandates participation in the DDP, even if the driver is not eligible for a conditional license, for convictions of specific alcohol or drug-related violations, or in specific plea-bargaining situations.
Under Leandra’s Law, when anyone is convicted of any felony or misdemeanor drunk driving offense the court will be required to impose - in addition to any fine, jail, or prison sentence - a period of probation or conditional discharge. During that period, the individual will be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device, for at least six months, in any motor vehicle they own or operate.
Before a vehicle’s motor can be started, the driver must exhale into an ignition interlock device (IID) also known as a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). If the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.025 percent or higher the engine will not start.
No. At random intervals after the engine has been started, the device will require additional breath samples. If a sample is not provided or if the blood alcohol concentration is 0.025 percent or higher, the device will record the event, warn the driver and then start an alarm (horn honking and/or a loud interior alarm) until either the ignition is turned off or a clean breath sample is provided. Additionally, some of the devices have built-in cameras and keep a photographic record of who provides the breath sample.
When someone is convicted of impaired driving and ordered to have an interlock installed, he or she will be referred by local ignition interlock monitors to manufacturers and their installation service providers designated by the state.
The cost depends on the vendor and the level of ignition interlock service, but generally costs approximately $100 for installation, $100 for de-installation and a monthly fee of $100. In general, it is the responsibility of the convicted drunk driver to pay all the fees associated with installing and maintaining these devices.
A Designated Driver is someone who consumes no alcohol at all, not even one drink. Never take a ride with the “least drunk” person in your group.
No. A designated driver is anyone who agrees to remain sober, in order to be able to drive others home safely. As long as you are old enough to drive and are old enough to be allowed in the establishment, you can participate in RIDE.
Please call our STOP-DWI Coordinator, Mike Dinardo at 270-2900. He greatly appreciates your feedback and will contact the establishment.
No, sorry. The RIDE program cannot pick you up. If you need a safe ride home, please call a friend or call a taxi.
No, sorry! This program is to reward the designated sober driver. Although you may not feel intoxicated after one or two drinks, we define the designated driver as someone who has consumed no alcohol.
No, we welcome visitors from across the region to come and responsibly enjoy Rensselaer County and our businesses.
The program is offered at the Hudson Mohawk Recovery Center Offices in Troy and East Greenbush.
Youth aged 14 to 20 years old (under 14 at the discretion of the agency).
The program is 7 90-minute sessions.
Yes, attendance will be monitored.
Parents will be required to attend at least one session.
Yes, the cost is $100. For those who are unable to pay, there is a sliding fee scale.
Referrals can be made by calling the Hudson Mohawk Recovery Center at 518-272-3918.
Governor Cuomo issued Executive Order 205, requiring all travelers coming from states with significant rates of transmission of COVID-19 to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of their last contact. The requirements of the travel advisory do not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (i.e., less than 24 hours) through the course of travel, including layovers between flights.
Governor Cuomo updates the restricted states every Tuesday. For the most current list of restricted states, please visit the COVID-19 Travel Advisory page.
Per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), last updated May 13, 2020, symptoms may appear 2 to 14 days after exposure to the virus. People with these symptoms may have COVID-19:
Preliminary information suggests older adults and people with underlying health conditions or compromised immune systems may be at higher risk of severe illness from this virus.
If you think you need to be tested for COVID-19, you have choices:
The best way to prevent infection is to prevent exposure to the virus that causes COVID-19. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends everyday preventive actions to help prevent the spread of any respiratory viruses:
You may additionally visit the CDC COVID-19 Vaccination page to learn more about current vaccine options and resources.
Older adults and people of any age who have serious underlying medical conditions may be at higher risk for more serious complications from COVID-19. These people who may be at higher risk of getting very sick from this illness, includes:
Governor Cuomo announced "Matilda's Law," a guideline to protect New Yorkers age 70 and higher and those with compromised immune systems. Under the law, vulnerable New Yorkers are advised to:
There is no specific antiviral treatment recommended for COVID-19. People infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 should receive supportive care to help relieve symptoms. For severe cases, treatment in a hospital might be required. Call your healthcare provider to find out more about what care and treatment is available to you.
The virus that causes COVID-19 is spreading from person-to-person. Someone who is sick with COVID-19 can spread the illness to others, even if they are not showing symptoms. That is why the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that these patients be isolated either in the hospital or at home (depending on how sick they are) until they are better and no longer pose a risk of infecting others. Individuals who have tested positive must wear a mask when they cannot social distance while isolating.
Someone who has been released from isolation is not considered to pose a risk of infection to others. Current CDC Guidance for When It Is Acceptable to Release Someone From Isolation is made on a case by case basis and includes meeting all of the following requirements:
Quarantine is used to keep someone who might have been exposed to COVID-19 away from others. Someone in self-quarantine stays separated from others, and they limit movement outside of their home or current place. A person may have been exposed to the virus without knowing it (for example, when traveling or out in the community), or they could have the virus without feeling symptoms. Quarantine helps limit further spread of COVID-19.
Isolation is used to separate sick people from healthy people. People who are in isolation should stay home. In the home, anyone sick should separate themselves from others by staying in a specific "sick" bedroom or space and using a different bathroom (if possible). In NY State (NYS), the following definitions apply for quarantine and isolation related to COVID-19:
Serology testing checks a sample of a person's blood to look for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. These antibodies are produced when someone has been infected, so a positive result from this test indicates that person was previously infected with the virus.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is working with other federal agencies to evaluate the performance of commercially manufactured serology tests that are becoming increasingly available from healthcare providers. This evaluation is expected to be completed in late April. We do not know yet if the antibodies that result from infection with SARS-CoV-2 can protect someone from reinfection with this virus or how long antibodies to the virus will protect someone. Scientists are conducting research to answer those questions.
Serology tests may not be able to tell you if you are currently infected because it typically takes 1 to 2 weeks to develop antibodies to SARS-CoV-2. To tell if you are currently infected, you would need a test that identifies the virus in samples from your upper respiratory system, such as a nasopharyngeal swab.
If you are interested in being tested for antibodies, call the COVID-19 hotline at 888-364-3065 to find the nearest testing location. There are a limited number of antibody test kits available; many test sites have a maximum number of people they can test each day.
When fighting illness, the body produces antibodies-proteins that counteract a pathogen. Antibodies remain in plasma for weeks or months after recovery. The antibodies in patients who have recovered from COVID-19 attack the virus and can potentially be useful as a treatment for the virus.
The American Red Cross is accepting plasma donations from individuals who have recovered from COVID-19. For more information or to determine your eligibility call 800-733-2767 or visit the Plasma Donations from Recovered COVID-19 Patients page.
Cloth face coverings can be fashioned from household items or made at home from common materials at low-cost, and should be used as a public health measure, beyond social distancing. Individuals must procure, fashion, or otherwise obtain face coverings and wear them when they are in a public and are:
When wearing cloth face coverings in public settings, where social distancing measures are difficult to maintain (e.g., grocery stores and pharmacies), especially in areas of significant community transmission, you should:
While cloth face coverings may not prevent the wearer from becoming infected, they might help slow spread from people who have the virus and are unaware.
Executive Order 202.16 directs employers to provide essential workers with masks free of charge to wear when interacting with the public.
Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as
Using one cap of bleach to a gallon of water will disinfect surfaces. Use a rag or spray bottle. If storing in clear bottle you must change solution daily. If surfaces are dirty, clean them using detergent or soap and water prior to disinfection. To disinfect, most common Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-registered household disinfectants will work. See the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) recommendations for household cleaning and disinfection.
Hand washing is one of the best ways to protect yourself and your family from getting sick. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, especially after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing; going to the bathroom; and before eating or preparing food. If soap and water are not readily available, use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol.
Generally coronaviruses survive for shorter periods of time at higher temperatures and higher humidity than in cooler or dryer environments. However, we don't have direct data for this virus, nor do we have direct data for a temperature-based cutoff for inactivation at this point. The necessary temperature would also be based on the materials of the surface, the environment, etc. Regardless of temperature please follow Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidance for cleaning and disinfection.
Coronaviruses are generally thought to be spread from person to person through respiratory droplets. Currently, there is no evidence to support transmission of COVID-19 associated with food. Before preparing or eating food it is important to always wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds for general food safety. Throughout the day use a tissue to cover your coughing or sneezing, and wash your hands after blowing your nose, coughing or sneezing, or going to the bathroom.
It may be possible that a person can get COVID-19 by touching a surface or object, like a packaging container, that has the virus on it and then touching their own mouth, nose, or possibly their eyes, but this is not thought to be the main way the virus spreads. In general, because of poor survivability of these coronaviruses on surfaces, there is likely very low risk of spread from food products or packaging.
If you want to be sure you have the recommended skills in your current occupational area, you will chose your current position, evaluate your skills as they relate to that position, Metrix will then recommend courses to complete.
Select a new occupation, evaluate your skills, and begin to take courses to build qualifications in your new chosen career field.
As long as you have an internet connection, the Metrix system is available 24/7. Computers are also available for online learning at the One-Stop Center during our regular hours.
Reports are available that will help you keep tract of your courses and progress. Certificates are available to print out upon successful completion of coursework.
Stop in, or contact any of the Rensselaer One-Stop Counselors to sign up for the introductory Metrix Learning Session.
Answer goes here...
Located at1600 7th Avenue in Troy. A parent or guardian will need to contact our office at 518-270-2800 to set up an initial appointment for a child. Upon the initial phone call you will need the following information: the child's name, date of birth, parent/guardian name, and a contact phone number. This information will be passed along to the intake and referral therapist who is a Licensed Certified Social Worker. The therapist will contact the parent/guardian and conduct a brief assessment over the phone to find out what services would best serve the child's needs. A decision regarding whether or not the clinic would best meet the needs of the child or if a referral to another provider will be rendered. An appointment will be made for a face to face Comprehensive Assessment with one of our Licensed Social Workers or Mental Health Counselors.
Upon your initial telephone call, the receptionist will take the same information as above and pass it on to the Site Supervisor to review and return your telephone call. After conducting a brief assessment over the phone to find out what services would best serve the child or adult's needs, a decision will be made as to whether we would best provide services for the case or if a referral would be made. If clinic services are indicated an intake appointment will be scheduled.
Recipient Rights (PDF)
Health Insurance accepted at Rensselaer County of Mental Health:
NY Connects staff can also help link you to available long term services and supports.
Long term services and supports (also known as long term care) include a range of services and supports that can help people of all ages remain independent in their daily lives.
Long term services and supports are both medical and non-medical services that help to maintain or improve daily functioning and health. Services can be provided at home, in community-based settings such as a senior center, community center or day care, or residential settings such as Assisted Living Residences, or in nursing homes.
Anyone who needs information on long term services and supports:
These are children from birth to 21 years of age who have or are suspected of having a serious or chronic physical, developmental, behavioral or emotional condition. Also, under this are children who require special health or related services beyond that is required by children generally.
A Child Services Specialist can assist families with providing support and resources to access services to improve the quality of life for their children with special health care needs and their families.
Anyone who works or lives in Rensselaer County interested in making our community safer, stronger and better prepared to respond to emergencies of all kinds.
No. Both individuals with medical training and non-medical volunteers are needed.
Volunteers can chose roles that match their skills, interests and availability. Roles might include:
There is no set time commitment to be a Medical Reserve Corps volunteer. Volunteers serve at their level of interest, time and training.
Volunteers receive an initial orientation which includes an overview of Medical Reserve Corps (MRC) roles, responsibilities and assignment, activation and reporting procedures. Additional trainings are offered as classroom and online sessions. You will also receive "just in time" training if your services are ever needed.
Interested in registering as a Rensselaer County Medical Reserve Corps (MRC) volunteer? Call 518-270-2633 or visit the MRC page for a registration form.
To maintain good health every person should accumulate 30 minutes or more of moderate-intensity physical activity throughout the day, on 5 or more days of the week. If you have a chronic disease or are inactive, consult your doctor before you begin an exercise program.
Moderate physical activity can be almost any activity that makes you feel the way you do when you walk briskly for 30 minutes. These include:
Also, these activities can be done 10 minutes at a time over the course of the day, instead of 30 minutes at one time.
Even small increases in light to moderate activity will improve your health if you are not currently active. It is important to start slowly and check with your doctor before getting started. For people who are inactive or who have a chronic disease, try starting with 5 minutes a day and find something you like to do. Then gradually increase your activity level.
Above all, find something that you enjoy doing and stick with it!
Natural hazards have the potential to cause property loss, loss of life, economic hardship, and threats to public health and safety. While an important aspect of emergency management deals with disaster recovery, those actions that a community must take to repair damages and make itself whole in the wake of a natural disaster, an equally important aspect of emergency management involves hazard mitigation. Hazard mitigation measures are efforts taken before a disaster happens to lessen the impact that future disasters of that type will have on people and property in the community. They are things you do today to be more protected in the future.
Hazard mitigation actions taken in advance of a hazard event are essential to breaking the typical disaster cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. With careful selection, hazard mitigation actions can be long-term, cost-effective means of reducing the risk of loss and help create a more disaster-resistant and sustainable community.
A Hazard Mitigation Plan is a well-organized and well-documented evaluation of the hazards that a jurisdiction is susceptible to, and the extent to which these events will occur. Hazard Mitigation Plans identify an area’s vulnerability to the effects of the natural hazards typically present in a certain area, as well as the goals, objectives, and actions required for minimizing future loss of life and property damage as a result of hazard events. The primary purpose of mitigation planning is to systematically identify policies, actions, and tools that can be used to implement those actions.
Building permits are required for new construction, additions and any alterations to structures that may affect structural components, public safety, means of egress, electrical and mechanical systems and fire protection equipment. Permits are also required for wood and other solid fuel burning stoves, new siding, fences and accessory structures. New wood stove installations are also required to have a certificate of installation approval issued by the Bureau of Code Enforcement in your local city, town or village.
In addition, an informational brochure titled "Homeowner's Guide to Assessments and Permits for Home Improvements" is also available from the Buildings Bureau.
The City of Troy offers a Master Electrician test 3 times a year and a Plumber's Exam yearly. Class "B" Electrical Licenses are also available to those who are licensed in another county and wish to do work in Troy. Call the City Clerk at 518-270-4634 for forms.
Dogs must be cared for in a responsible manner, which does not interfere with the quality of life of residents in the surrounding neighborhood. All dogs must be licensed. A kennel license is required for more than six adult dogs per property. By law, when not confined to their own fenced yards, all dogs must be leashed at all times. Yards must be kept in sanitary condition, free of animal waste. Dog owners are responsible for preventing their dog from nuisance barking.
The owner of a dog is responsible for removing and cleaning any waste or excrement deposited on public or private property. All such waste is to be removed and placed in a plastic bag or metal container and discarded in the same manner as garbage and refuse are discarded. When walking a dog, the owner is required to carry an implement capable of picking up the dog's waste to discard it.
Please contact the Troy City Clerk's Office. They can be reached via phone at 518-270-4541 or in person at:
1 Monument SquareTroy, NY 12180
You and your fiancé must appear together in the Office of your City/Town Clerk. Typically no appointment is needed.
Both parties to the marriage must bring a driver's license, passport, birth certificate or other identification showing date of birth and identity.
If you were ever married before, you must bring in an original or certified copy of any divorce decrees, annulments or death certificates for all previous marriages - even those performed outside the U.S.
We will not keep these documents.
Both parties to a marriage must be 18 years of age. You may obtain a marriage license if you are 16 or 17 years old with the written consent of both parents of the minor and both parents must be present at the time of licensing.
Medical exams and blood testing is not required.
You can get a marriage license in any city or town clerk's office anywhere within New York State and you can use this license to get married anywhere within the state. However, after you are married, your marriage record will remain in the office where you obtained your license.
There is a 24-hour waiting period before you can use your marriage license although you will receive it on the spot. It will be date and time stamped. Your license does expire within 60 days, so you should never get a license more than 60 days before you intend on using it.
When there is an emergency, lives are in danger, serious injury, serious medical condition, crime in progress, or any other situation needing immediate attention.
If you wish to remain anonymous or keep information confidential, just tell the operator.
You must submit a written request for the report through the U.S. mail. The written request must contain:
Mail your request to your local police department, sheriff, or state police.
The ability of the police to locate and arrest criminals often depends on the thoroughness and accuracy of the report you submit. The following information checklist should be used for reporting both emergency and non-emergency crimes:
Graffiti on any public or private property is illegal. Graffiti is defined as any etching, painting, drawing, or other marking on public or private property. It is the responsibility of the property owner to remove graffiti from private property.
All buildings and structures must have street numbers. These numbers or letters must be clearly visible from the street. The City’s police and firefighters rely on the numbers for identification of buildings. Quicker recognition of your address by the police or firefighters will save valuable time, and may mean the difference between life and death.
For births in one of the 5 boroughs of New York City (Manhattan, Kings, Queens, the Bronx, and Staten Island), visit the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene website. Please note that the borough of Kings is sometimes referred to as Brooklyn and the borough of Staten Island is sometimes referred to as Richmond.
A birth certificate may be obtained from the local registrar of the city you were born in or from the New York State Department of Health. You may apply online at the NY State Department of Health website.
Application must be submitted with copies of either:
The fee is $10 per copy or $11 for genealogy copies. Payment is accepted in the form of a check or money order payable to the Registrar/City of Troy or cash.
If you come in person to City Hall, in most cases you will receive the certificate immediately.
Processing times are approximate and may vary with current workload volumes as well as circumstances beyond our control.
NYS Department of Health Vital Records Section operates the Adoption Information Registry. The Registry helps adoptees obtain available non-identifying information about their birth parents and enables the reunion of registered adoptees with their birth parents and biological siblings. Finally, the Registry provides a place for birth parents to file medical information updates which may be shared with registered adoptees. To request an application write to
Adoption Information RegistryNew York State Department of HealthP.O. Box 2602Albany, NY 12220-2602
Please be certain to include your name, mailing address and the type of application you need (adoptee, birth parent or biological sibling).
The Rensselaer County Clerk's OfficeRensselaer County Courthouse2nd Street and Congress StreetTroy, NY 12180
This office does have copies of most community zoning maps and laws in Rensselaer County. However, all of the territory in Rensselaer County is part of a municipality, and most of these have their own zoning ordinances.
We do not have any printed maps.
Rensselaer County does not, however, the City of Troy and Rensselaer may still have funding available. Troy Rehabilitation and Improvement Program (TRIP) also train people looking forward to owning their own homes.
We recommend that you bring your drivers license or a picture ID, in case inspectors need to verify identification.
If your name is not in the pollbook, it may be because your registration form was not received or, for a primary, because you aren't enrolled in a party. If you believe that you are eligible, you can still vote. Ask for an affidavit ballot, which is a paper ballot. The Board of Elections will check its records and your vote will be counted if you are indeed eligible to vote.
Jurors are drawn from lists of state taxpayers and licensed drivers as well as from voter registration rolls. Do not give up your right to vote in the hope that you will avoid jury duty. Chances are, if you pay taxes or drive a car, you may still be called.
Yes. A voter with a disability may have the assistance of anyone of his or her choice, so long as the person providing the assistance is not the voter's employer or union agent. If the voter requests assistance from inspectors, one from each of the two parties represented there will help.
No. Once you register, you are registered to vote in that county. Name, address, or party enrollment changes, can be made by submitting a new registration form. If you move out of the county you must register in your new county.
A Primary election is an election at which only enrolled members of a party may vote. Primaries are held by the party to choose their candidates for the General Election.
Yes. Registered voters may apply for a change of enrollment by submitting a new registration form indicating the party enrollment change. The form must be received not later than the 25th day before the general election. The change becomes effective 7days after the general election.
No, but if a person deliberately makes a false complaint and statement against a member, that person may be criminally prosecuted or civilly liable.
The complainant and the department employee will be notified that the case is under investigation.
The complainant will be informed as to the outcome of their complaint.
Depending on the severity of the conduct, dispositions of the investigation can range from retraining, to evaluations, to discipline.
Deputy Sheriffs must be provided with certain rights, just as all citizens are. Complaints must be supported by sufficient evidence. If there is insufficient evidence to prove an allegation, the employee will be cleared of the charge.
The Rensselaer County Correctional Facility allows visitation seven days a week during the following time periods:
It is not necessary to schedule a visit, the facility honors walk up visits on a “first-come, first-serve” basis provided there is room.
Each inmate is allowed two visits per week. The visitation week runs from Monday through Sunday. Two visitors are allowed to see the inmate at each visit. One child younger than 4 years of age will not be counted as a visitor if seated on the lap of the adult during the visit.
Anyone the inmate wishes to see (barring there are no orders of protection). If you are under the age of 18, you must be accompanied by your parent/legal guardian or provide written and notarized permission from your parent/legal guardian and be accompanied by an adult.
The written permission must be able to be verified before you will be allowed to visit.
Rensselaer County Correctional Facility Minor Visitation Consent Form (PDF)
You must provide the Visitation Control Officer with a government issued photo identification card. The Officer will enter your information into the inmates’ visitor log as a permanent visitation record.
View the Inmate Allowable Property / Packages / Accounts / Deposits page for more information.
In Accordance with New York State Commission of Correction Minimum Standard 7008.4 each new Inmate will be afforded the opportunity to receive an initial secured visit within 24 hours of their arrival at facility. The visit will occur in the secured area of the visitation room during normal visitation hours. Inmates will not be allowed contact visitation until they have been medically cleared and classified. The purpose of the visit is to advise family, friends of the situation, arrange bail, arrange counsel or care of any other pertinent matters. The length of the visit shall be at the sole reasonable discretion of Visitation Control Staff so as to ensure the opportunity be afforded to all new arrivals. The same standards of Identification and registration are required to receive an initial visit. The initial visit is not considered or counted against an inmates allowable two scheduled weekly visits.
While in the facility for contact visitation, you are expected to conduct yourself in a manner consistent with reasonable standards of public decency. Review the inmate visitor information guide. You must comply with all staff orders and directions while on facility grounds.
he main purpose of the program is to capture identifying information about your child on a SAFE CHILD card. The same information is stored in a statewide database. The storage of this information is entirely voluntary and requires the written consent of a parent or legal guardian.
In addition to quickly providing important details to police agencies investigating child disappearances, the SAFE CHILD card can be used in conjunction with the New York State AMBER Alert and Missing Child Alert programs. If a child goes missing, the SAFE CHILD program allows their information to be electronically disseminated within minutes, significantly increasing the possibility of bringing a missing child home.
The information is stored in a database at the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS). When DCJS receives a missing child report, the fingerprints of that child are compared against all incoming fingerprints submitted to DCJS. A parent or lawful guardian can request that the information be purged from the database at any time. When a child turns 18, the fingerprints are automatically purged from the database.
The Adult Protective Services Unit works with people who meet the following criteria:
Anyone can make a referral to Adult Protective Services. Social Services Law 457.9 provides immunity from civil liability for any individual who makes a referral to Adult Protective Services in good faith. Referrals can be made by calling our office at 518-266-7900. We will need to know the client's name and address, some idea of what their disability is, and the presenting problem. If you have their date of birth, social security number and exact diagnosis that is helpful but it is not necessary to make a referral.
If you have any additional questions please feel free to contact our office at 518-266-7900 or if you prefer, email us.